Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum How to use Salome? Is sharing of sub-meshes possible ?

Is sharing of sub-meshes possible ?

Up to How to use Salome?

Is sharing of sub-meshes possible ?

Posted by Roman Lygin at April 07. 2011

As I'm just learning Salome development, I keep on asking ;).

Imagine you have a 3D geometrical assembly consisting of components with different locations (transformation matrices). For instance, a TopoDS_Compound of 4 TopoDS_Solids sharing the same geometry with 4 different locations. Thus, all solids are 'partners' (in terms of Open CASCADE API TopoDS_Shape::IsPartner()).

When meshing such a shape (via Mefisto, Netgen,...), will resulting SMESH_Mesh contain a shared set of elements (triangles) or will it have 4 instances ? If each box face is split into 2 triangles, will there be 6 * 2 = 12 triangles + 4 locations or will there be 6 * 2 * 4 = 48 independent triangles ? Obviously the former would be preferred as it gives more direct mapping with original geom model and imposes smaller memory footprint.

Though there is a notion of sub-mesh in Salome I could not find a representation of the transformation yet.

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Roman

Re: Is sharing of sub-meshes possible ?

Posted by Saint Michael at April 07. 2011

Hi Roman

When meshing such a shape (via Mefisto, Netgen,...), will resulting SMESH_Mesh contain a shared set of elements (triangles) or will it have 4 instances ?

There will be 4 instances.

BR St.Michael

Posted by Roman Lygin at April 07. 2011

Hi St. Michael,

Thank you very much for a lightning-fast response. Great to hear that.

To not abuse your time, I'll try to understand myself how the resulting mesh will look like (with the debugger). Will ask if won't be able to figure it out ;).

Thanks for your time!

Roman

Posted by Saint Michael at April 07. 2011

To not abuse your time, I'll try to understand myself how the resulting mesh will look like (with the debugger).